News International How non permanent members of UN Security Council gets elected ?

How non permanent members of UN Security Council gets elected ?

United Nation Security CouncilIndia wins the Security Council elections as a non-permanent member from the Asia-Pacific category for a two year term. India gets 184 votes out of 192, this is the 8th time that India has been elected to UN Security Council.

India, Ireland, Mexico and Norway also won the Security Council elections held Wednesday, for the term 2021-2022.

How non permanent members of UN Security Council gets elected ?

As of now UN Security Council has 15 members, 5 permanent member with veto power and 10 non-permanent members, five of which are elected each year by the General Assembly for a two-year term.

5 permanent member countries of security council are: China, France, Russian Federation , United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and United States of America.

Also Read:- Vladimir Lenin and The Rise of USSR

Originally, there were 11 members of the Security Council: 5 permanent and 6 non-permanent members, but in 1963, the General Assembly recommended an amendment to the Charter to increase the membership of the UN Security Council from 11 to 15.

The UN Security Council has set the pattern for geographic representation of non-permanent members as follows:

5 from African and Asian States, 1 from Eastern European States, 2 from Latin American States and 2 from Western European and other States.

There were 192 Member States present for voting in the security, each state has one vote and for becoming non-permanent member in UNSC 2/3 vote were required which is 128 votes.

How member states votes in non-procedural matters.

UN Charter Article 27(3) states that votes in the Security Council on non-procedural matters “shall be made by an affirmative vote of nine members including the concurring votes of the permanent members”– this is often called the veto power of permanent members.

This time for the two vacant seats from African and Asia-Pacific States, Djibouti, India and Kenya were the candidates. For the one vacant seat from among the Latin American and Caribbean States, one endorsed candidate was Mexico. For the two vacant seats from among the Western European and other States, Canada, Ireland and Norway were the three candidates.

Aditya Raj
Writer & Co-founder of InfotOnline.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read

DRDO successfully tests ABHYAS – High Speed Expandable Aerial Target

DRDO (Defence Research and Development Organisation) successfully flight tested ABHYAS - High Speed Expandable Aerial Target from ITR Balasore, Odhisa. ABHYAS is designed for autonomous...

IPL opening match MI Vs CSK breaks all previous viewership records

As expected, what a historic return of Dream 11 IPL 2020. The IPL opening match which took place on 19th September in Abu Dhabi...

POCO X3 with Snapdragon 732G, 120 Hz Display at Rs 16999

POCO India has launched POCO X3 in India, weeks after the global launch. It has been launched...

Be The Infinite, short film featuring MS Dhoni releasing on 24th September

Be The Infinite with OPPO Reno 4 Pro, a short film featuring Indian former Captain MS Dhoni will be releasing on this Thursday, 24...