Defence IAF to operationalize Second squadron of FOC variant of LCA Tejas from...

IAF to operationalize Second squadron of FOC variant of LCA Tejas from 27 May

LCA Tejas FOC VariantOn 27 May 2020, the Indian Air Force will start official Ressurection and formation of Second squadron of FOC variant of Light Combat Aircraft Tejas.

The FOC variant Light Combat Aircraft will be going to inducted into Squadron- No 18 named as Flying Bullets.The Squadron was earlier resurrected in April 2020, at Sulur, Tamil Nadu.

IAF Chief Air Chief Marshal RKS Bhadauria will operationalise No. 18 Squadron ‘Flying Bullets’ of the Indian Air Force on 27th May at the Sulur airbase. The Squadron will be equipped with LCA Tejas FOC Aircraft and will be the second IAF squadron to fly LCA Tejas.

Read More:- China’s real intention behind the increase transgressions at LAC

No.18 Squadron (Flying Bullets) played a stellar role during 1971 in Indo-Pakistani war also known as Bangladesh Liberation war, and Flying Officer Nirmal Jit Singh Sekhon was awarded the Param Veer Chakra after the war.

The IAF has so far ordered 40 LCAs, split in the initial operational clearance (IOC) version and the more advanced and FOC configuration. The first squadron is consists of IOC variant and the second squadron will be consisting of FOC and 8 twin seat trainer aircraft.

The march 2020, the defence ministry gave the green light for purchasing additional 83 Tejas MK1A upgraded version Tejas MK1. The deal will be finalized in coming months.

Through LCA India Air Force planning to replace its aeging MIG 21 aircraft.

Aditya Raj
Writer & Co-founder of InfotOnline.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read

Flt Lt Shivangi Singh to become first women pilot in IAF to fly Rafale

Flight Lieutenant Shivangi Singh is set to become first women pilot in Indian Air Force (IAF) to fly Rafale fighter jets, as reported by...

MOTO E7 Plus Launched with Snapdragon 460, 5000 mAh Battery

Motorola India, Lenovo-owned company has launched MOTO E7 Plus with the latest Qualcomm Snapdragon 460 processor. It...

Ayushmann Khurrana is the only Indian actor in Time’s 100 Most Influential People of 2020

On September 22, TIME released their list of 100 Most Influential People of 2020. The highly talented Ayushmann Khurrana is in that list and...

“I haven’t batted for a long time. 14-days quarantine time doesn’t help”, fans not happy with MS Dhoni batting at lower order

After CSK's loss in their 2nd match against Rajasthan Royals many CSK fans were disappointed with Captain cool batting lower down the order when...