NewsEntertainmentIndian Movies and The Oscars

Indian Movies and The Oscars


Every year when the Oscar is announced, we start talking how many movies from India actually win the Oscar. Now in this article i will inform you, what’s our status in Oscar.

Indian Movies and The Oscar’s

The Film Federation of India is responsible to select and send one locally made movie as an official entry to Oscar from India every year.

Note:- Every foreign language film from all over the world is only eligible to compete in only one category, Best foreign language film.
If any foreign language film wants to take part in other categories just like Parasite (Film from South Korea) than their are rules for theses which we will discuss further.

Sadly, As of now not a single movie from India won the Oscar award in any category.
Mother India released in 1957 is the first movie selected officially from India to send into Oscar, and the very first movie from India had reached into the final round of the Oscar. But only from one vote the said movie lost The Oscar in Best foreign language film category.

Mother India 1957, Salaam Bombay! 1988, and Lagaan 2001 was the only three movie from India was made into the final round of the Oscar.

There are only 5 Indians who have won the Oscars – Bhanu Athaiya (Best Costume Design – Gandhi, 1983); Gulzar (Best Original Song – Slumdog Millionaire, 2008); A.R. Rahman (Best Original Score / Best Original Song – Slumdog Millionaire, 2008) and Resul Pookutty (Best Sound Mixing – Slumdog Millionaire, 2008) and finally Satyajit Ray (Honorary Award, 1992) who won Oscar for their notable work in the film department.

Although Slumdog Millionaire, Gandhi movie were based in India but we can not claim it as our Oscar because the entire production team in both the movies was foreigners.

Read More:- Underrated Oscar worthy Indian movie of 2019

Now let’s talk in brief about The Academy award

The Academy Award

The Academy Award is popularly known as The Oscar. This Award is given for the Artistic and Technical merit in film department. The organisation which gives Oscars named as Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Science (AMPAS).

The Academy Award was first presented in 1929 known as 1st Academy Award. From 1931 onwards Academy Award was started broadcasting through Radio and from 1953 it started broadcasting into televisions.

Academy Award is one of the oldest of the four major annual American entertainment awards, named as – the Emmy Awards for television, the Tony Awards for theater, and the Grammy Awards for music and finally Academic Awards for films.

Oscar Categories

  • Best Picture: since 1927/28
  • Best Director: since 1927/28
  • Best Actor: since 1927/28
  • Best Actress: since 1927/28
  • Best Supporting Actor: since 1936
  • Best Supporting Actress: since 1936
  • Best Animated Feature Film: since 2001
  • Best Animated Short Film: since 1930/31
  • Best Cinematography: since 1927/28
  • Best Costume Design: since 1948
  • Best Documentary Feature: since 1943
  • Best Documentary Short Subject: since 1941
  • Best Film Editing: since 1934
  • Best International Feature Film:[86] since 1947
  • Best Live Action Short Film: since 1931/32
  • Best Makeup and Hairstyling: since 1981
  • Best Original Score: since 1934
    Best Original Song: since 1934
  • Best Production Design: since 1927/28
  • Best Sound Editing: since 1963
  • Best Sound Mixing: since 1929/30
  • Best Visual Effects: since 1939
  • Best Adapted Screenplay: since 1927/28
  • Best Original Screenplay: since 1940

Rules to be Nominated for an Oscar’s

Any movie who wanted to get nominated into the oscar;

  1. A film must run for 7 consecutive days in the theatre of Los Angeles (except for the Best Foreign Language Film, Best Documentary Feature, and Best Documentary Short Subject).
  2. A film must open in the previous calendar year, from midnight at the start of January 1 to midnight at the end of December 31.
  3. It must have premiered in 35mm or 70mm film format or in 24-frame, progressive scan digital format.
  4. A film must have a length of more than 40 minutes.

How a Film finally gets the Academy Award

A Movie or Movie maker gets nominated into the Oscar through a voting process. As of 2018 AMPAS has more than 7,000 registered members who votes for the movie. Each member has strictly designated in his/her field. For example a Screen Writer will only vote for Screen Play in the film. Movies who get most number in the selected category of votes gets the Academy Award.

Aditya Raj
Writer & Co-founder of InfotOnline.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read