NewsSportsEngland Vs Pakistan 2020, 1st Test : Pakistan won the toss and...

England Vs Pakistan 2020, 1st Test : Pakistan won the toss and elected to bat first

England Vs Pakistan 2020 Test series
Photo Credit:

England vs Pakistan 2020 

Pakistan won the toss and have decided to bat first against England in the first of their 3-Test matches starting today at the Old Trafford, Manchester.

After their series Triumph over West Indies by 2-1, the Joe root led side is all set to lock horns with Azhar Ali’s Pakistan. A battle of a fierce pace attack which both teams have is what makes this series an intense.

England has not managed to win series at home against Pakistan since 2010 where they beat them 3-2. The last two series played between these two teams ended in a draw- 2-2 in 2016 and 1-1 in 2018.

Meanwhile, the last time Pakistan have won a Test series in England was in 1996 under the captaincy of Wasim Akram beating England 2-0.

Pakistani team would consider themselves to be in an advantageous position right away — since they have been in England for close to a month and have been getting used to the conditions by playing practice matches. Also, England players would be a bit worn-out as it has been only a few days since the series against West Indies culminated.

Also Read : Jonathan Trott back in England camp as a batting coach for Pakistan series

It will once be interesting to see what will be their bowling combination for the first Test. On the other hand, Pakistan has gone with a 20+ squad for the series.

Jonathan Trott has bee appointed batting coach for England for the upcoming series. Trott, who played 52 Tests, retired from playing all forms of cricket in 2018.

Earlier, the ICC announced that the front-foot no-ball technology will be used in the three-Test series between England and Pakistan.

England Squad: Rory Burns, Dominic Sibley, Zak Crawley, Joe Root(c), Ben Stokes, Ollie Pope, Jos Buttler(w), Dominic Bess, Jofra Archer, Stuart Broad, James Anderson, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood, Sam Curran

Pakistan Squad: Shan Masood, Abid Ali, Azhar Ali(c), Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq, Mohammad Rizwan(w), Shadab Khan, Yasir Shah, Mohammad Abbas, Shaheen Afridi, Naseem Shah, Fawad Alam, Sohail Khan, Sarfaraz Ahmed, Imam-ul-Haq, Kashif Bhatti

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read