IPL 2020Explained: CSK out of Playoffs race for the first time, here's how...

Explained: CSK out of Playoffs race for the first time, here’s how they won’t make it..

The three-time champions have made the finals eight times before, winning the title three times in 2010, 2011 and 2018.

CSK out of playoffs race
The three-time IPL champions have made it to the playoffs every season before.


The three-time IPL winners Chennai Super Kings(CSK) on Sunday became the first IPL team to get eliminated from the playoff race after Rajasthan Royals(RR) defeated Mumbai Indians by 8 wickets.

Keeping the mathematical calculation in mind, even if the MS Dhoni side wins the remaining of their two matches, they won’t be able to make it to the playoffs.

This is for the first time in IPL history that the Chennai super kings are out of the playoffs. they have made it to the final four every time since the league started in 2008. In the 10 IPL seasons that CSK featured, they have made to the finals eight times and winning the title thrice.

However, they had a very poor outing in IPL 2020. On Sunday, Dhoni’s men notched up an eight-wicket win to keep their playoffs hopes alive but their hopes when RR thrashed MI in the second match to end their IPL 2020 campaign.

They have 8 points from 12 matches. the maximum they can reach is 12 points which is not enough to seal a berth in the final four. In the league standings, Mumbai Indians, Delhi Capitals and RCB are currently placed at the first, second and third positions respectively with 14 points. they are one win away from making it to the playoffs.

ALSO READ: MI demolishes CSK, End of road for Chennai Super Kings

On the other hand, Kolkata Knight Riders are at 12 points with three games to go, Kings XI Punjab and RR – both at 10 points each with three and two matches left, respectively.

Mathematical calculation explained:-

Even if Chennai win all matches, they can reach up to 12 points while either Rajasthan Royals or Kolkata Knight Riders will have 14 points at the end of the league stage which closes the case for CSK.

Here is the remaining schedule involving CSK, KXIP, KKR and RR

OCT 26- Kolkata Knight Riders vs Kings XI Punjab OCT

OCT 29- Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata knight riders

OCT 30- Kings XI Punjab vs Rajasthan Royals

NOV 1 – Chennai Super Kings vs Kings XI Punjab

NOV 1 – Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajasthan Royals

Here’s how-

OCT 26- Kolkata Knight Riders vs Kings XI Punjab

KKR are at 12 points. CSK would want KKR don’t win this game so that they don’t reach 14 points. However, this result will take KXIP to 12 points if they win which will have them left with 2 more games.

OCT 29- Chennai Super Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders

As CSK need to win all their games, this result will still keep KKR at 12 points if CSK win.

OCT 30- Kings XI Punjab vs Rajasthan Royals

In this game, CSK would want Rajasthan royals to win this game so that KXIP doesn’t reach 14 points. After this result, RR would get to 12 points.

NOV 1 – Chennai Super Kings vs Kings XI Punjab

CSK will get to 12 points after they win this game against KXIP. this will keep both CSK and KXIP at 12 points and then the run rate will be looked after.

NOV 1 – Kolkata Knight Riders vs Rajasthan Royals

But here’s how this game doesn’t allow CSK to get a chance even to qualify. If the above results will follow, both KKR and RR will have 12 points and this game will take either of them to 14 points. and the maximum CSK can reach is 12 points.

However, if any of the above result changes, then also CSK is out of contention. earlier, the CSK captain has said that they want to enjoy the game irrespective of where you are on the points table.

“We don’t really have a chance to make it to the play-offs, leave the mathematical part of it. But three, three and a half hours out there can get really painful. You have to tell them – let’s go out there and give it your best shot and enjoy the game whatever the result might be. If you aren’t out there enjoying, it becomes very painful,” said Dhoni after the win against RCB.

CSK had won titles in 2010, 2011 and after coming from a two-year ban in 2018. they also ended up runners up five times, the maximum any franchise has in the history of IPL.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read