NewsSportsAirtel Delhi Half Marathon 2020: Yalemzerf Yehualaw won the Delhi Marathon in...

Airtel Delhi Half Marathon 2020: Yalemzerf Yehualaw won the Delhi Marathon in the elite women’s category

Airtel Delhi Half Marathon 2020: Yalemzerf Yehualaw won the marathon
Image credit: The Reporter

Airtel Delhi Half Marathon 2020

New Delhi: Yalemzerf Yehualaw won the Airtel Delhi Half Marathon 2020 in the elite women’s category here in the 16th edition in Delhi. Ethiopian Yehualaw got the better of defending champion Tsehay Gemechu.

Yalemzarf Yehualaw clinched the gold medal by clocking the time of 1:04:46. The Two-time defending champion Ethiopia’s Tsehay Gemechu finished fifth. She clocked the timing of 1:07:16(67:16). Gemechu was aiming to break the course record for the third time in the women’s race but unfortunately fallen behind at the halfway mark.

The 21-year-old Gemechu made a huge impact on her ADHM debut in 2018, setting a women’s course record of 66:50. She then went on to better her own record by 50 seconds when she ran a stunning personal best of 66 minutes last year.

Kenya’s Ruth Chepngetich finished second (1:05:06), while Ethiopia Ababel Yeshaneh(1:05:21) finished third falling 15 seconds shot to Chepngetich.

Also Read: Nestlé brings Athletes under the Umbrella Milo NIDJAM

While in the Indian category Parul Chaudhary emerge victorious by clocking a time of 1:12:18. Sanjivani Jadhav finished second (1:13:00) while Komal Jagadale finished third(1:14:04).

The ADHM is one of the first global sporting events to be hosted by India amid the COVID-19 pandemic. The 16th edition of the event was divided into different categories namely: Half Marathon (Elite), Half Marathon (21.097 km), Open 10 K and Great Delhi Run (5km).

In the elite international athletes’ title holder Andamlak Belihu who was marked as favourites in the men’s category lost the race to Ethiopian Amedework Walelegn in a nail-biting finish to win the Airtel Delhi Half Marathon men’s race in a course record time of 58.53 seconds.

Belihu, who had won the title in successive years in 2018 and 2019, finished with the silver medal with a time of 58.54 in the 21.09km distance. Uganda’s Stephen Kissa was third among the elite runners in 58.56 seconds.

In the Indian elite category, Avinash Sable, who has qualified for the Tokyo Olympics in 3000m steeplechase, emerged winner, clocking 1:00.30.

More articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Must Read